Welcome!

Welcome to Old Orchard Chronicles, I’m so glad you’re here!

I’ve been working on ideas for this blog for some time and am happy that it’s finally come together. I first started blogging in 2009 when my Darling moved to Toronto for a two-year contract. I was left feeling rather disoriented and alone when he moved away and began blogging on an almost daily basis as a way t o reach out and interact with others. When he came home I began blogging less and less since we began spending more time together and then in 2012 my father became very ill with depression before passing away in 2013. You can read a bit more about him on his page where you will also find some links to mental health resources. It was such a shock when my father passed away that it took me quite some time to get my feet back under me. I tried going back to my first blog, but I just didn’t identify with it anymore because I was so completely changed from the person I was when I started it, so I decided to start again from scratch.

This blog is going to be about the things I love: music, cooking, reading, jogging, traveling, caring for our rambling old upper duplex, travelling, photography and sometimes shopping (because yes, I do love to shop sometimes!). I will also blog about things that touch me, or sometimes just things that happen in everyday life that make me go ‘What the heck???’ or ‘Hey, this happened and it was amazing!’

I can’t promise a post everyday, I will not be blogging on a schedule. I am doing this because I enjoy writing and sharing the things I love and I hope you will enjoy reading about them and if you do, please feel free to comment on my posts as I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

