Facebook can be an asshole sometimes.

On This Day App, sometimes great, sometimes not

So, I don’t usually have any beefs with Facebook. I dutifully ignore most of the useless apps they create and take their constant revamping of news feed features in stride. Facebook is a tool that I use to keep in touch with close family and friends who pretty much already know everything that goes on with me. I do not have hundreds and hundreds of Facebook Friends, I’m actually not even sure I have one hundred, so the only complaint I regularly have about Facebook is when my news feed randomly switches its sorting method to the most popular posts my friends have made when I prefer to see the most recent ones first. However, their new ‘On This Day’ app pushed my buttons when it popped up on my feed for the first time today to remind that ‘Hey, you wrote this post last year on the exact day on which your grandfather passed away’. Uh, thanks for that, but could you not? The same thing goes for their ‘year in review’ videos that come along in December every year. The past two years have not been full of happy events, but life being what it is, anything major was indeed shared on Facebook so that family and friends could be kept up to date without my having to make a ton of phone calls, many of them long-distance. Consequently, a lot of the things that garnered a lot of comments and therefore showed up in those ‘year in review’ videos that most of my friends joyfully shared were, in my case, not very joyful.  I’m not the only one with such complaints about the ‘year in review’ videos, as you can read here:

http://www.hlntv.com/article/2014/12/29/facebook-year-review-pretty-much-sucks

Basically, what I am saying here is that my memory works fine, I don’t need Facebook to remind me about stuff that happened one, three or even ten years ago and neither should anyone else. If there is something amazing that happened and that an anniversary of it comes along and I want to share that with everyone, I can do it all on my own, that you very much. I don’t need an app to remind me of it so I can then share the reminder. So yeah, Facebook, this is a fail on your part in my books, just like your lame year in review videos.

For more on this not-so-great-in-my-books Facebook app, you can read this article:

Facebook ‘On This Day’ tool launched for a nostalgic trip through previous posts | Daily Mail Online.

Leave a Reply

