Some of my favorites from this week

IMG_2195 - Copy2
Quinn sunbathing.

Hello everyone! I hope you’ve all had a nice week and that your weekend is off to a nice, relaxing start, like Quinn’s here! We had quite the busy week, but I managed to get all the Winter clothes put away and the garden tidied up, which included yanking out three scraggly little cedar shrubs that seemed to have been planted there by the previous owners of our place because they purchased too few boxwood shrubs! I pulled out the cedars on my own without the help of any garden tools and am quite pleased with myself for having pulled it off as two of them were not too keen on vacating my garden! I’m now going to wait to see if my lupins return before deciding what to do with the empty space where the cedars were. Hopefully the cat that had been using one of the shrubs as a place to pee won’t be back…

In other Spring news, the buds on our maple tree are coming along quite nicely as you can see below, I can’t wait for the leaves to appear!

Buds on our maple tree this week
Buds on our maple tree this week

As for cooking this week, I made a huge pot of Bolognese sauce on Thursday! I got the recipe from Aimée Winbush Bourque’s cook book Brown Eggs and Jam Jars. My mom got me her book for my birthday and I cannot recommend it highly enough! I have made four of her recipes so far, including her maple and pumpkin chili and the results are always mouth wateringly good. I also love that she is local to Montreal! Check out her blog and her book, you will not be sorry!

Now, while I do love to cook, I also like a day off from the kitchen every once in a while, so we went out to dinner last night. We are very fortunate to live near the vibrant and restaurant filled Monkland VIllage area of NDG, so we popped over yesterday evening for some wonderful seafood at Lucilles Oyster Dive. It was my second visit there and my Darling’s first and we had a lovely time. Their fish is always fresh and the service is lovely, plus their terrace is heated so we were able to eat outside for the first time since early last Fall! I will say that the first time I went the music on the terrace was far too loud, but they seem to have heeded the comments of their diners and the speakers were off this time which made the ambiance much more agreeable. The place can get loud and boisterous though, so don’t go there if you are looking for a quiet evening, it’s much more suited to a TGIF outing!

On that note, I hope you all have a great weekend and I’ll be back with more soon!

Leave a Reply

