Maple tree buds week three…and some more favorite recipes!

003 - Copy

Wow…I wasn’t sure I was going to make it on here this week, things have been so busy! I’m actually really impressed that I have the energy to put a post together today with all the running around I did, but here I am!

As you can see, there’s not too much difference between the buds on our tree this week compared to last week. That’s because there has really not been that much sun for the past week and a half, but I’m pretty much convinced that the next time I’m able to get a picture up, there will be some miniature leaves on our tree!

005 - Copy

On another note, no matter how busy I am I always make sure I have some time to cook and I therefore have two recipes to share with you this week!

I had one of my best friends over for brunch on Saturday and I made some very tasty waffles for us. It was my second time whipping up some waffles (my Darling is usually the waffle chef in this house) and I now have the recipe down pat! The waffles come out incredibly light and fluffy and never, ever stick to the iron without my having to put any kind of cooking spray in it, which is essential! Kudos to Stephanie at Somewhat Simple for the recipe 🙂

On Sunday I finally got around to making the cream of spinach soup I had been meaning to make since Thursday with some leftover spinach from another meal. It was my first time making any kind of soup with pureed potatoes being the main ingredient for thickening and oh my goodness, let me tell you it will not be the last! The result is wonderful and was undoubtedly particularly tasty in this case because I threw in some leftover barbecued potatoes from Tuesday night’s dinner and we could easily taste the hint of chipotle chili powder I had seasoned them with! The recipe I used is can be found here, but do note that I also added two small yellow onions into my soup to give it a bit more zing, I was afraid it might have tasted a bit bland otherwise. I also did not peel my potatoes and definitely do not hesitate to throw a dash of chipotle chili powder in, you will not regret it!

Leave a Reply

