The most peaceful place on Earth

So, you’ve probably noticed that it’s been rather quiet around here for the past few weeks! That’s because my Darling and I were off on vacation in beautiful, peaceful, good-for-the-soul Prince Edward Island for two weeks! It was my fourth visit to the Island and my Darling’s first and I am pleased to announce that he fell in love with charming, gentle PEI. I was pretty sure he would, but I was so pleased when he started saying how much he loved the place on Day 1!

A beautiful sunset by the sea in Blooming Point.
A beautiful sunset by the sea in Blooming Point.

For any of you not familiar with Prince Edward Island, it is Canada’s smallest province. It is bordered by the Northumberland Strait on one side and the Gulf of St-Lawrence on the other. It is also cradled by land on three sides by  New Brunswick to the Southwest, to which it is connected by the Confederation Bridge, and Nova Scotia to the Southeast.

A view of St.Peters Bay
A view of St.Peters Bay

I first visited PEI as a girl with my family in July of 1998. My father and I both fell immediately in love with the Island and I was left with a hankering to go back, but didn’t manage to until May of 2012. My father unfortunately never made it back to Prince Edward Island, but I went back in June of 2013 for a week to avoid spending my Father’s Day without him in Montreal and then again this July. The Island always affects me in the same way: I am filled with peace as soon as I get there and I am always struck by its gentle beauty and the kindness of the people who live there. Everyone is so much more laid back than anywhere else I have ever been and the entire Island feels like one big, tight-knit family. I cry every single time I leave there.

Lupins in a ditch by a church between St.Peters and Souris
Lupins in a ditch by a church between St.Peters and Souris

The pictures in this post are from our recent vacation, so they give you a glimpse of the Island in the height of Summer, when it is a symphony of bright colors. In my next posts, I will be showing what the Island looks like in May and June as well as giving you little pointers about what to visit and the pros and cons of visiting the Island at different times in the Spring and Summer.

Beached catamarans in Victoria-By-The-Sea
Beached catamarans in Victoria-By-The-Sea

I can guarantee one thing though: The Island never disappoints, whether it is sunny or cloudy, warm or chilly, you will always be able to find beauty there, it is never far away.

Cape Tryon lighthouse
Cape Tryon lighthouse

You will also always leave there feeling relaxed, refreshed and oh, so happy and you will more than likely want to turn around and go back as soon as you get off the bridge or your plane has taken off. I, for one, never want to leave once I get there.

Enjoying a sunset on Blooming Point Beach
Enjoying a sunset on Blooming Point Beach
One thought on “The most peaceful place on Earth”

Leave a Reply

