Fun with my macro lens and the last days of Summer

A flower box in Old Montreal
A flower box in Old Montreal

Before we left on vacation in July I treated myself to a macro lens. I had been wanting one for ages and I really lucked out on the day I walked into Camtec Photo’s Notre-Dame Street location, because they had a gently used lens on hand and it was just the one I wanted! It works like a dream and I’ve been having tons of fun with it ever since! The first photos I took with it were in Old Montreal, which is a photographer’s dream, especially for me since I am a serious architecture junkie.

Architectural details on a building in Old Montreal
Architectural details on a building in Old Montreal
012
Carved stone and wood architectural details above doorways in Old Montreal

A few days after purchasing my lens, I took it out for a whirl at one of my favorite places, Atwater Market, knowing that its gardening stalls would be in full bloom and they did not disappoint!

Recently watered flowers at Atwater Market.

032 035

A macro lens also comes in very handy for taking photographs of your cats. The next few images are of Magique. Do not be fooled by her calm, cool, laid back exterior in these photos. She is a little devil of a cat, just this morning she looked me square in the face and tipped over two photo frames on our dresser and then proceeded to snitch and eat one of my evening primrose old supplements off the kitchen table, then look up at me licking her chops while I scolded her, without a care in the world. But life is better with cats, I swear! How can it not be? We never have a dull moment here thanks to our two feline friends and we really do love them to the moon and back.

IMG_3089 IMG_3091

Aside from going on wanders near and far with my camera, I have been enjoying the last days of Summer as best I can. It is still warm and sunny here in Montreal and the leaves are still green, but school started again for kids here this week and it is Labour Day this coming Monday and we Canadians know all too well what that means: Fall is coming and soon enough, Winter will be right behind it! I don’t know how anyone can complain about unusually warm weather at this time of year, especially since our last two Winters have been so brutal. I say, soak in all the heat and sunshine you can, because within a few months you’re going to be paying big bucks for plane tickets to fly South and get some!

Finally, because I haven’t done so in a little while, here are a few of my current favorites:

1- The Goldfinch, a novel by Donna Tartt that I just finished reading. It was the last of my Summer reads that I bought a few months ago and I loved it. It is not a light read or an easy one, but if you like books that are focused on character development, you will enjoy it greatly. It won the Pulitzer Prize this year and it really lives up to it in my opinion.

2- Evensong Live 2015, a recording of choral music recorded during Evensong services at King’s College, Cambridge during the 2013-2014 academic year that I have been listening to several times a month since purchasing it in Spring. I have always been a huge fan of the choir of King’s College, they are a group of hugely talented boys and young men and I will never, ever forget how incredibly moved my Darling and I were when we attended an Evensong service at King’s last December. It was the realization of a dream for me and my Darling was oh, so happy that I had convinced him that just the service would make him happy we made the day trip out to Cambridge from London and boy, was I right. As soon as the boys started singing we both got chills and my eyes filled with tears. So, if you enjoy choral music, check out the choir’s recordings and please, please, if you are ever in London, take a day trip out to Cambridge and attend their Evensong service. The express trains get you there forty-five minutes, which is less time than it takes to get from one point to another in many areas of London itself.

3- Our organic Strawberry plant, which is gifting us with a totally unexpected second crop of berries. What a treat to be picking fresh strawberries in September, right off our front balcony!

Leave a Reply

